Riga - the capital of Latvia
The Latvian capital Riga is first mentioned in 1201year, so the city's architecture is a unique mix of medieval, modern and high-tech, powdered sweet patriarchal. The cozy café, which offers homemade pastries, always full of customers.
The Dome Cathedral
The largest cathedral in the whole Middle AgesBaltic space. The first foundation stone was laid in 1211, and then the construction of virtually ceased. The modern view of the face - a great mixture of Romanesque, Baroque, Gothic and classical.
Cathedral organ, 25 meters high, consists of 7000 pipes. It was assembled in 1884 by craftsmen from Germany and was considered at that time the largest in the world.
In Malaya Castle are three houses,tightly pressed against each other, who got the nickname "Three Brothers". All the houses are built of stone, because of the old Riga fortress, it was forbidden to be wooden structures.
The owner of the house at No. 17 was a baker, and thereCity opened the first confectionery. The house at number 19, although he was prostroen little later his brother, built in the style of Dutch Mannerism. The fact that the construction had on years of close contact merchants and builders from the Netherlands. But the house number 21, boasts Baroque in style, a rare not only in Riga but also in Latvia. Today it is a museum of architecture. The exposition is quite modest, but it compensates for this lack of free admission.
Profitable House (1910) Owned by a wealthy merchant. Pinnacle home is decorated with two metal figurines of cats - yet another symbol of the capital. There is an interesting legend concerning the origin of these cats. The owner of a new home was denied admission to the ranks of the urban guild merchants. In retaliation, he decorated tower house funny cats by launching them their tails towards the Great Guild Hall. So he expressed his disdain for merchants who rejected it. Now cats are deployed to them muzzles. To achieve this happened only after the trial.
Once it was a fortress, surrounded bythick walls and defensive towers. The building began to build in 1330, and it was meant for the master of the Livonian Order. Fortress several times destroyed and restored, so the appearance of the building combines many architectural styles.
Later, when the Livonian Order ceased toexistence, the castle became home to all subsequent rulers and governors. And this tradition is religiously observed - the castle is the residence of the Latvian president.